Plain and Simple Legal Advice


Repeat DUI: 3 Things To Know About The Penalties

We are working remotely during these trying times to make sure we can still support you in all your legal matters.

Please know you can call us or schedule online appointments for any of your legal matters. Be well and stay safe.

In New Jersey, the penalties for DWI/DUI offenses increase with each subsequent offense. That is why it is important to seek the guidance of a skilled DWI attorney as soon as possible.

At Karcher Law Firm, we can defend you aggressively against DUI charges. Call At Karcher Law Firm, we can help you push back against the charges. Call 732-852-7018 to a free consultation to discuss your circumstances. Based in Red Bank, we defend clients throughout Monmouth County and the surrounding areas of New Jersey.

When adding the number of offenses, sentencing courts are not permitted to go back more than 10 years.

If the second offense occurs more than 10 years after the first offense, the court shall treat the second conviction as a first offense for sentencing purposes, and if the third offense occurs more than 10 years after the second offense, the court shall treat the third conviction as a second offense for sentencing purposes.

On a third of subsequent offense, there is mandatory jail time of six months.

Ninety days of that time can be spent in an inpatient rehabilitation program. The other penalties include:

  • Fine: $1,000
  • Ignition interlock device: one to three years
  • Loss of license: 10 years
  • Loss of registration privileges: 10 years
  • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,500 for three years

If a DUI offense occurred in a school zone, there are sentencing enhancements that apply upon a subsequent offense, if the first offense was also in a school zone.

These enhanced penalties call for

  • Fine: $1,000-$2,000
  • Jail: Mandatory minimum of 96 hours to 180 days
  • License suspension: four years
  • Community service: 60 days

For a third or subsequent offense in school zone, the enhancement are:

  • Fines: $2,000
  • Jail: six months
  • License suspension: 20 years

Take Action

Contact Karcher Law Firm for a free consultation about your situation.