We are working remotely during these trying times to make sure we can still support you in all your legal matters.

Please know you can call us or schedule online appointments for any of your legal matters. Be well and stay safe.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal and Traffic Defense
  4.  » 
  5. DWI Charges
  6.  » DWI: Refusal To Submit To A Chemical Test

DWI: Breath, Blood Or Urine Test Refusal

We are working remotely during these trying times to make sure we can still support you in all your legal matters.

Please know you can call us or schedule online appointments for any of your legal matters. Be well and stay safe.

In New Jersey, the penalties for refusing to submit to any alcohol, blood or urine test can be the same or more than you would have gotten had you been convicted of the actual DWI charge.

Any person who operates a motor vehicle on any public roadway is deemed to have given his/her consent to chemical breath testing at the request of the police officer with reasonable grounds to believe that such person has been operating a motor vehicle under the influence.

The police making the request are required to inform the driver of the consequences that will result from a breath test refusal.

At Karcher Law Firm, in Red Bank, we can protect your rights concerning DUI tests. Call 732-852-7018 to discuss your specific situation in a no-cost consultation. We help clients throughout Monmouth County and the surrounding areas of New Jersey.

Penalties For Refusing A DWI Chemical Test

The penalties for refusal include:

First offense

  • Fines: $300-$500
  • License suspension: seven months to one year (which may run concurrently with any other license suspension imposed as a result of a DWI conviction arising out of the same incident)
  • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • Treatment: Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition interlock device: term of the suspension and six months to one year following restoration

Second offense

  • Fine: $500-$1,000
  • License suspension: two years
  • Treatment: IDRC
  • Ignition interlock device: term of the suspension and one to three years following restoration
  • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years

Third or subsequent offense

  • Fine: $1,000
  • License suspension: 10 years
  • Treatment: IDRC
  • Ignition interlock device: for the term of the suspension and one to three years following restoration

Contact Us

Call our office for a free consultation, or complete the brief online form.