We are working remotely during these trying times to make sure we can still support you in all your legal matters.

Please know you can call us or schedule online appointments for any of your legal matters. Be well and stay safe.

Home » Criminal and Traffic Defense » DWI Charges » DWI Penalties

DWI Penalties In New Jersey

We are working remotely during these trying times to make sure we can still support you in all your legal matters.

Please know you can call us or schedule online appointments for any of your legal matters. Be well and stay safe.

A New Jersey DWI is not classified as a crime, but instead is classified as a “motor vehicle” violation. Despite this classification, the penalties and sanctions imposed on even a first offense can be severe and could impact the rest of your life.

At Karcher Law Firm, in Red Bank, we can help you push back against the charges. Call 732-852-7018 to discuss your specific situation in a free consultation. We serve clients throughout Monmouth County and the surrounding areas of New Jersey.

The Penalties You Face

The New Jersey penalties for DWI include:

  • DWI first offense:
    • BAC under .10 or no reading:
      • Fines: $250-$400
      • Jail: up to 30 days
      • Treatment: 12-48 hours at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
      • License suspension: three months
      • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years
    • BAC .10 or higher/DWI drugs:
      • Fines: $300-$500
      • Jail: up to 30 days
      • Treatment: 12-48 hours IDRC
      • License suspension: seven months to one year
      • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years

If BAC is .15 or higher: Mandatory ignition interlock device for six months to one year after driving privileges are restored.

DWI In A School Zone — First Offense

Additional penalties and jail time apply if the violation occurs within 1000 feet of a school, school-owned property or crossing zone.

“School zone” is:

  1. on any school property used for school purposes that is owned by or leased to an elementary or secondary school or school board or within 1000 feet of such school property.
  2. driving through a school crossing if the municipality, by ordinance or resolution, has designated the school crossing as such.
  3. driving through a school crossing, knowing that juveniles are present if the municipality has not designated the school crossing as such by ordinance or resolution.

The penalties include:

  • Fine: $500-$800
  • Jail: up to 60 days
  • 12-48 hours IDRC
  • License suspension: one to two years

Contact Our Law Firm To Speak With An Experienced Lawyer

Call our office for a free consultation, or complete the brief online form.